Awards and Honors Convocation



Wednesday, April 24, 2002

2002 Awards and Honors Convocation

Invocation Hymn Scripture Reading Jack Wisemore William Randolph Lynette Sorenson

Class Academic Awards for Non-graduating Students

Freshman Jan Hicks
Sophomore Kevin Leach
Junior Eric Steinkamp
Senior Glenn Settle
LEAP Dan Anglin

Academic Awards by Major for Graduating Students
Biblical Literature
Blaine

Business Management
Christian Education
Communication
Ecointensive Biology
English
History
Interdisciplinary Studies
Missions
Music
Nursing
Organizational Management
Pastoral Ministries
Psychology
Religion and Philosophy

Teacher Education-Elementary

Teacher Education-Secondary

Youth Ministries

Blaine Charette Tom Sill Jacqualyn Randolph Gary Gillespie Eric Steinkamp Glenn Settle LeRoy Johnson Jack Wisemore Larry Malcolm William Owen Carl Christensen Dan Anglin Dwaine Braddy William Herkelrath Darrell Hobson **Ernestine Rice** Leigh Wilson Michael Thompson

Graduation Academic Honors

Associate in Arts

Darrell Hobson

Bachelor of Arts

Marshall E. Flowers, Jr.

Special Recognitions

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

Marshall E. Flowers, Jr.

Psi Chi Honor Awards

William Herkelrath

American Bible Society Award

Dwaine Braddy

Senior Chapel Speaker Awards

C. David Elmes

Graduation Speaker Awards

Marshall E. Flowers, Jr.

Conferring of Scholarships

College Scholarship Awards

Jacqualyn Randolph

Student Life Awards

C. David Elmes

Athletic Awards

LeRoy Johnson

Alma Mater

William Randolph

Benediction

Jim Jessup



NORTHWEST

COLLEGE

2002-2003 General and Private Scholarship Awards

CONGRATULATIONS!

SCHOOL OF MINISTRY SCHOLARSHIPS

DOUGLAS G. BENTON MEMORIAL
SCHOLARSHIP
Aaron O'Tremba
Niina Peltomaki

BIRKELAND SCHOLARSHIP
Todd Chamberlain

CASPER RAYBUCK SCHOLARSHIP Josh Strickler

RAY CLARK SCHOLARSHIP Joel Bremer

DENNIS & NANCY DAVIS HONORARY SCHOLARSHIP Chris Hinkle

HERB W. CROWDER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Aaron Sexton

DR. DONALD FEE MEMORIAL ALUMNI
SCHOLARSHIP Michael Purcell

PAUL FENTON MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Brooke Bennett

Mark Rodli

Dylan Morss

HICKMAN/HODGES SCHOLARSHIP Jason Deuman

A. E. HOKANSON MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Jeff Barnett

W.R. HURST, Sr. MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Jonathan Seaward

KINGS CIRCLE MISSIONS SCHOLARSHIP Joey Costello

WILLARD LEISY SCHOLARSHIP Brad Lowery

NORTHWEST DISTRICT SUPERINTENDENT Sigurd Sorensen SCHOLARSHIP Todd Fast

TYLER JAMES PECOTA MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Charissa McPherson

TANGEN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Melissa Webb

TOXBY SCHOLARSHIP

Noelle Congleton Rachel Smith Melissa Webb

H.B. WALKUP MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Russell McCrea

THEODORE F. WELK MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Joey Costello

GENERAL SCHOLARSHIPS

ALUMNI SCHOLARSHIP FUND

Lorella Petillon Jennifer Tacy Jacob Mohrmann

LEONARD & ELTA AMUNDSEN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Lisa Scansen

RANDY CLARK & ORVILLE CLARK MEMORIAL

SCHOLARSHIP

Ruth Ulmer

ELLA V CORSE MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Marcy Schlepp Mark Crouch

PAUL W. FENTON MATCHING SCHOLARSHIP

Kristen Gilbert Lindsay Clark Brittney Skiervem **Duffy Williams**

FILAN SCHOLARSHIP

Nikki Reeves

THE GREAT COMMISSION TRUST

Heather Deuman

OLIVER E. GUY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Desha Givens

AGGIE HURST MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Jennifer Anderson

MCNEVEN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Erik Willanger

NORTHWEST SHARE SCHOLARSHIP

Brian Steen Erika Hopkins

TOM & LOIS RUSSELL SCHOLARSHIP

Lori Carpenter

SHEBAL SCHOLARSHIP

Heidi Stynsberg Christina Reasner Gretchen Barber Bryan Chud Lara Boko

DALE R. SORENSEN SCHOLARSHIP

Stephen Horst Laura Tedeschi

(GENERAL SCHOLARSHIPS, con't.)

ROBERT STEWART MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Christina Vossler

UNITED MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Erica Waggoner

UNITED PROJECT SHARE

Jennifer Matthews

Christina Terrenal Ruth Salins Chris Troll

WOMEN'S FELLOWSHIP SCHOLARSHIP Amanda Coleburn

Christy Moody Rachel Asher Jennifer Anderson

ARUL DANIEL INTERNATIONAL SCHOLARSHIP Jeong-Jai Yoon

MAJOR SPECIFIC SCHOLARSHIPS

NURSING:

EDITH BUTTERFIELD NURSING SCHOLARSHIP Maria Hutchinson

DAWN MICHELLE JORDSHAUGEN

MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Carie Kliever

JOY McCORMICK SCHOLARSHIP Maria Hutchinson

OAKES NURSING SCHOLARSHIP Cortney Smith

EDUCATION:

SHIRLEY NEWTON CLARK SCHOLARSHIP Ramona Smith

HELD FAMILY SCHOLARSHIP Nelli Kasabova

BEV FOREMAN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Breanna Churchill

Teresa Kishline

PARKER ALUMNI SCHOLARSHIP Nelli Kasabova

TYLER JAMES PECOTA MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Denise Jordan

CAL & DEBBY WHITE EDUCATION SCHOLARSHIP Joel Tourangeau

MUSIC:

ADA M. FLETCHER MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP Amy Oliver

DR. WILLIAM SWAFFIELD HONORARY ALUMNI

SCHOLARSHIP Arlene Madrid

MUSIC; RELIGION/PHILOSOPHY; PSYCHOLOGY:

WOLF, DANIEL SIDNEY MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

M. Paul Curd Scott Hedgcock

COMMUNICATION:

HENRY E. PORTIN MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP

Katie Valnes

Statement of Purpose

The Awards and Honors Convocation recognizes achievement and excellence. More than awarding tokens of recognition, its purpose is to exemplify excellence in academics, achievement and character. We remember Paul's injunction to Timothy..."Be thou an example of the believer."

Academic Affairs Committee Marshall E. Flowers, Jr. Chair

Dan Anglin
Dwaine Braddy
Carl Christensen
Charles Diede
David Elmes

Jim Jessup

Gary Newbill Bill Randolph

Ernestine Rice

Jack Rozell Julia Young

Rachel Dill Justin Keeler

Scholarship Committee

Jacqualyn Randolph, Chair
Myles Corrigan
David Elmes
Jessica Green
Matt Nelson
Connie Rice
Eric Steinkamp
Dan Schimelpfenig
Mike Thompson
Lana Walter
Joni Welk-Campbell

Alma Mater

Williams and Saari

"Let Light Shine Out"

Let light shine out from the great Northwest;
Go tell the Savior's grace;
From college halls to lands afar,
Bring hope to every race.

REFRAIN

Lord, bless Thy work at N.C.;
We turn our hearts to Thee;
Oh, thrust us out and lead us on,
To promised victory!

God's Word approved in the lives of those Who've trained at N.C.;
The Spirit sought for pow'r and truth,
'Til all His glory see.